Day 2 – Daily Rituals

My daily ritual starts and begins with black coffee. Nothing happens until I have taken the first sip of bitter darkness. But, once this comforting friend of coffee is over my day is up in the air. Don’t get me wrong, I love to plan. If I could wake up every morning and have color coded to-do lists sitting on the counter ready to go, well I would be on cloud nine. But, I have spent too many years beating myself up on the many days that there are no color coded lists to check off every morning. So, coffee it is. My constant friend, whom is always with me and definitely lets me know if I miss out.

Yet, I have always imagined the idea of rituals as a passage into adulthood. When I finally listen to the news every morning, exercise for at least 30 minutes daily, take 5 minutes to breathe in peace and quiet and have a tight cleaning schedule so the laundry never builds up. I do desire this ritual, but also believe I have plenty of time to achieve it. My daily life is far from scheduled at the moment. Sometimes I am not so okay with that, but other days when surprises come my way and I can easily change my plans I am so thankful that I can put my textbook down and know it will always be there when I get back.

So yes, I will start and finish with coffee for now. Hopefully the rest will learn to fall in and out of my life as needed – I trust that they will.

Leave a Reply

